RSS Feed

RCIA Starts Tonight!

Posted on

I am so excited!  Tonight we will meet with all of the other candidates and sponsors for the first time! For those of y’all who don’t know, RCIA is Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults.

That’s right…My Mr. is becoming Catholic!  The back-story on this is that when we met when I was only 18 years old, I told him about 2 months into it that I wouldn’t marry anyone who wasn’t Catholic.  I was obviously naive and having only been together for a couple of months, I was ready to cut my losses.  At that point he said that he would start to go to Mass with me and then I didn’t bother him about it again.  Although I really wanted him to become Catholic, I also wanted him to do it for the right reasons.  That’s why, this past Summer, when he told me he was going to contact our church to get more information about RCIA, it made me beyond excited!  He has come to this decision to enter the church on his own (I just guided at the beginning), and now I am going to be his sponsor!  This is so exciting because at the Easter Vigil he will complete all of his Sacraments.

This means that the wedding, this June, will be able to be a full Catholic mass in my home church that I was raised and went to school at!

I thought I would share this with y’all because to me, a religious foundation in marriage is the most important thing.  I’m sure I’ll be sharing more about our religious experience as the year goes on because we will not only be doing RCIA every Sunday from here on out, but we will also start our marriage preparation courses through the church.  I hope you will enjoy the posts on our spiritual journey to becoming Man and Wife!

About Liz

Starting my new journey as a wifey! southtexaswifey.wordpress.com

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!

